Together, Let's Build Airline Retailing

NDC (New Distribution Capability) will enable the travel industry to transform the way air products are retailed to corporations

NDC (New Distribution Capability) is a travel industry-supported program (NDC Program) launched by IATA for the development and market adoption of a new, XML-based data transmission standard (NDC Standard).

The NDC Standard enhances the capability of communications between airlines and travel agents. The NDC Standard is open to any third party, intermediary, IT provider or non-IATA member, to implement and use.

The NDC Standard enables the travel industry to transform the way air products are retailed to corporations, leisure and business travelers, by addressing the industry’s current distribution limitations:

  • Product differentiation and time-to-market
  • Access to full and rich air content
  • Transparent shopping experience

Introducing NDC

Why NDC?

Learn why NDC is a positive development for the travel industry.

What is NDC? (Part 1)

Learn what NDC is... and what it is not.

What is NDC (Part 2)

Learn what NDC is... and what it is not (cont.).

Who will benefit from NDC? And how?

Learn about the benefits that the new standard delivers.

Understanding NDC

How to use NDC: Shopping & Ordering

Learn how your sales and distribution processes will be like with NDC.

How to use NDC: Interline

Learn how your interline processes will be like with NDC.

How to use NDC: Operations

Learn how your operations-related processes will be like with NDC.

How to use NDC: Industry Settlement

Learn how your settlement-related processes will be like with NDC.

Adopting NDC

NDC Reference Architecture (for Airlines)

Learn about a possible NDC technical architecture that will help your airline adopt NDC.

Deployment Patterns (for Airlines)

Learn about the possible patterns available for the deployment of NDC within your airline.

NDC Certification

Are you NDC certified?

IATA provides the only official industry certification program for NDC.

The certification process examines the capabilities of airlines, agents and aggregators to receive and send NDC messages, testing specific NDC solutions.

NDC Certification covers:

  • Airlines, Sellers and Aggregators — Any airline that deploys an NDC API or any seller or aggregator that consumes these APIs; and
  • IT Providers — Any vendor that offers NDC products and services for airlines and distributors can become NDC capable.

Access now the NDC Certification Registry to see who are the NDC certified/capable actors.

Changes to NDC certification

As the NDC standard moves towards industrialization, with all major stakeholders engaged, IATA is introducing changes to its NDC certification to better support the industry through this new phase of volume growth.

  • Certification and renewal on a 36-month cycle of NDC schema versions
  • Level 4 certification, full Offer and Order Management, which includes additional Servicing Messages (OrderReshop RQ/RS, OrderChangeNotif)
  • "XML-Capable" Registration and new Level 1 certifications discontinued
  • Later in 2019, we will be introducing “NDC@Scale” certification for airlines: a set of criteria to demonstrate that airlines (and their IT providers) have a minimum set of recognized capabilities to drive volumes of NDC transactions towards 2020.

Rise to the standard and apply for certification:

Sign up for certification now!


Certification page on

Accelerating TMC Adoption

This section is a summary of TMC adoption accelerators captured from stakeholders across the value chain [airlines, IT providers, GDS, new aggregators, OBTs and mid-back office IT providers and TMCs.]

A challenge makes the "accelerator list” if it meets one of four criteria:

  1. It prevents ticket issuance
  2. No viable workarounds exist
  3. Downstream processes are not served
  4. There is significant impact to volume generation

Solutions to these problem areas may lie in any of these 3 areas:

  1. Implementation: a change in the implementation of one or more parties in the distribution value chain
  2. Mindset shifts (adapting to new ways of working – not everything will be migrated or work the same)
  3. Standard: Missing implementation guidance to drive standardization or missing features

There are 9 accelerators that have been captured to unlock TMC volume.

If you have any feedback or potential solutions to any of the TMC Accelerators, please share these through our feedback form

Solution TrackerLast updated on: 2021-07-15
Accelerator #1 [missing data] ⦿
Accelerator #2 [offer rules] ⦿
Accelerator #3 [price guarantee TL] ⦿
Accelerator #4 [multi-API channels] ⦿
Accelerator #5 [queue capabilities] ⦿
Accelerator #6 [invol servicing] ⦿
Accelerator #7 [order history] ⦿
Accelerator #8 [refund processes] ⦿
Accelerator #9 [same day exchange/void] ⦿

⦿  Agreed solutions
⦿  Solutions being formulated
⦿  Accelerator identified

How to leverage standards enhancements in older versions?

As new releases of the standards bring in new features and functionality, some of these may be required for implementers using previous versions of the standards. This section is intended to describe commonly agreed details on how to "backport" important features.

An example of this is the impending PSD2 regulation coming into effect in September 2019. While the 19.2 version of the standards (due for publishing in Aug 2019) will support the new 3D Secure v2 features, implementers of earlier versions (notably the currently popular 17.2) need help to integrate this essential feature in their current solutions and, if possible, in a way that is consistent across other 17.2 implementations also requiring to leverage this new feature.